The International Information System Security Certification Consortium, or (ISC)2, is a non-profit organization which specializes in information security education and certifications

Professional Certifications

(ISC)2 maintains what it calls a Common Body of Knowledge for information security for the following certifications:

  • Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP), including:
    • Information Systems Security Architecture Professional (CISSP-ISSAP)
    • Information Systems Security Engineering Professional (CISSP-ISSEP)
    • Information Systems Security Management Professional (CISSP-ISSMP)
  • Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP)
  • Certified Authorization Professional (CAP)
  • Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)
  • Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP)
  • HealthCare Information Security and Privacy Practitioner (HCISPP)
  • Certified Cyber Forensics Professional (CCFP)

It is certified by ANSI that (ISC)2 meets the requirements of ANSI/ISO/IEC Standard 17024, a personnel certification accreditation program. That accreditation covers the CISSP, SSCP, ISSEP, ISSAP, ISSMP, CAP, and CSSLP certifications.

Continuous Professional Education

All (ISC)2 certified professionals are required to earn Continuous Professional Education (CPE) credits on an annual basis in order to maintain their certifications. CPE credits can be obtained by attending industry events or conferences, writing articles/book reviews/books, etc.